Consumer Board

Meet our seven board members.

Consumer NZ is governed by an elected board of seven members who hold office for three years.

Robert Aitken, Dunedin

First elected to the Board in 2019.

Chair. Robert heads the Department of Marketing at the Otago Business School, University of Otago. He has co-founded and directed a media production company. He continues to provide business advice and mentoring, and has conducted market research. Robert has extensive experience as a Chair and Executive Member of not-for-profits including the Fortune Theatre Trust, Third Age Trust, Age Concern Otago, Age Concern NZ and Save the Children. His current research focuses on vulnerable consumers and sustainable consumption, and production.

Kate Tokeley, Napier

First elected to the Board in 2017.

Deputy Chair. Kate is an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law at Victoria University of Wellington. She teaches consumer law and policy. She is the author of academic articles and chapters in books on consumer law and policy issues. Her publications cover topics such as online auctions, consumer guarantees, tobacco regulation, unfair contract terms and responsible lending obligations.

Sue Kedgley, Wellington

First elected to the Board in 2013.

Sue Kedgley is a consumer and safe food advocate and writer. She is a board member of the Capital and Coast District Health Board. She is on the UN Women New Zealand Board. She was a Green Party Member of Parliament for 12 years and chaired Parliament's Health Select Committee for 3 years. She is the author of 6 books including Eating Safely in a Toxic World.

Marie Shroff, Wellington

First elected to the Board in 2014.

Marie is currently Chair of the New Zealand Electoral Commission and a member of the boards of the Media Council and the Privacy Foundation. She has long experience of consumer rights issues and of governance and management, both in New Zealand and internationally. Her former roles include Secretary of the Cabinet (1989-2003) and Privacy Commissioner (2003-2014). She has been a member of Consumer since the 1970s.

Laura Mueller, Tauranga

First elected to the Board in 2018.

Laura is a Disputes Tribunal referee sitting in the Tauranga District Court since 1999. She has been a member of the Medical Council of New Zealand since 2009 and Deputy Chair since 2014. She is a trustee of the Tauranga Community Foodbank. Laura has a Juris Doctor degree in law and has substantial business management experience.

Elizabeth Tennet, Nelson

First elected to the Board in 2019.

Liz has extensive experience working on consumer rights issues. She was for seven years CEO of the national office for Community Law. She is a former Labour Member of Parliament. Her career has focused on advocacy for social and economic justice. She has extensive governance experience, having served on many boards, often as chair. Liz also has business experience, including working to budgets and being accountable to members.

Wendyl Nissen, Hokianga

First elected to the Board in 2020.

Wendyl is a journalist, broadcaster and former magazine editor and the author of 10 books, mostly about living a sustainable life. She has edited Woman's Day and NZ Woman's Weekly and lives in the Hokianga.